REVIEW: Dracula’s Guest

I’ve had this book lying on my shelves for years and finally read it this past October.  Overall it was a really fun anthology, especially during Halloween season.

Dracula’s Guest: A Connoisseur’s Collection of Victorian Vampire Stories is split into three parts and features short stories all having to do with the undead.  I was familiar with some of the authors – like Lord Byron and Bram Stoker – but I hadn’t heard of most of these writers (even though some of them were household names in their time).  One of my favorite aspects of the book was that the editor, Michael Sims, provided short author intros before each narrative.  These intros were well researched and provided context for each writer and the time period.  I also appreciated that most of the stories referenced in these intros were included in the anthology.  My favorites were “The Family of the Vourdalak,” “Good Lady Ducayne,” “And the Creature Came In,” and “Count Magnus.”

The anthology is very thorough – after I finished, I felt like I had obtained a solid foundation on Victorian vampire literature and mythology.  If you want a well-curated collection of spooky, over-the-top Victorian vampire stories, look no further.

Stay chic,

-Laura

 

Title: Dracula’s Guest: A Connoisseur’s Collection of Victorian Vampire Stories

Editor: Michael Sims

Publisher, year: Walker & Company, 2010

Chic rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Buy from Amazon | Buy from Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

